Declaration of Independence Package

Declaration of Independence Package

  • National Archives Store Exclusive
  • 1776 set containing:
  • Declaration of Independence pocket-sized hardcover book
  • Declaration of Independence pencil
  • U.S. Constitution magnet
  • Capital Landmarks postcard
  • Capital Landmarks ruler
  • Historical documents playing cards
  • We are pleased to offer you our custom $17.76 package!

    Celebrate our nation’s history and the amazing National Archives with this specially priced bundled package of patriotic goodies from the National Archives Store. As a wonderful holiday gift, or as a treat for yourself, this collection of special items is priced just right.

    The $17.76 Package features our Declaration of Independence pocket-sized hardcover book and pencil, a U.S. Constitution magnet, American historical documents playing cards and our exclusive Capital Landmarks postcard and ruler.

  • Drafted by 33 year old Thomas Jefferson between June 11 and June 28, 1776, the Declaration of Independence is the nation's most cherished symbol of liberty. It was adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, and announced that the 13 American colonies, then at war with Great Britain, regarded themselves as independent states and no longer a part of the British Empire. Instead, they formed a union that would become a new nation: the United States of America.

    The U.S. Constitution is the supreme law of the United States of America. The Constitution originally consisted of seven Articles. The first three Articles embody the doctrine of the separation of powers, whereby the federal government is divided into three branches: the legislature, consisting of the bicameral Congress; the executive, consisting of the President; and the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Court and other federal courts.

    On September 25, 1789, the First Congress of the United States proposed 12 amendments to the Constitution. Ten of the 12 were ratified by three-fourths of the state legislatures on December 15, 1791. The ratified Articles constitute the first 10 amendments of the Constitution, or the U.S. Bill of Rights. In 1992, 203 years after it was proposed, Article 2 was ratified as the 27th Amendment to the Constitution. Article 1 was never ratified.