Custom Document Package

Custom Document Package

  • National Archives Store Exclusive
  • Declaration of Independence tote bag containing:
  • Your choice of Charters of Freedom replica document
  • Set of three Charters of Freedom postcards
  • Declaration of Independence magnet
  • Pocket-sized U.S. Constitution
  • Charters of Freedom document pen
  • National Archives key chain
  • Rosie the Riveter "We Can Do It!" playing cards
  • We are excited to present our custom document package!

    Celebrate our nation’s history and the amazing National Archives with this specially priced bundled package of patriotic goodies from the National Archives Store. As a wonderful holiday gift, or as a treat for yourself, this collection of special items is priced just right.

    The Custom Document Package features your choice of one of our exclusive replica Charter of Freedom documents. Made of uniquely aged parchment paper, select from the Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution or the Bill of Rights. Our set also includes a pen and magnet, a pocket U.S. Constitution, Charter of Freedom postcards, Rosie the Riveter playing cards, and a National Archives key chain. All of these come with a Declaration of Independence tote bag that can be used time and time again.

    Please note that the parchment may darken over time. We recommend framing behind UV protective coated glass to avoid this discoloration

  • Drafted by 33 year old Thomas Jefferson between June 11 and June 28, 1776, the Declaration of Independence is the nation's most cherished symbol of liberty. It was adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, and announced that the 13 American colonies, then at war with Great Britain, regarded themselves as independent states and no longer a part of the British Empire. Instead, they formed a union that would become a new nation: the United States of America.

    The U.S. Constitution is the supreme law of the United States of America. The Constitution originally consisted of seven Articles. The first three Articles embody the doctrine of the separation of powers, whereby the federal government is divided into three branches: the legislature, consisting of the bicameral Congress; the executive, consisting of the President; and the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Court and other federal courts.

    On September 25, 1789, the First Congress of the United States proposed 12 amendments to the Constitution. Ten of the 12 were ratified by three-fourths of the state legislatures on December 15, 1791. The ratified Articles constitute the first 10 amendments of the Constitution, or the U.S. Bill of Rights. In 1992, 203 years after it was proposed, Article 2 was ratified as the 27th Amendment to the Constitution. Article 1 was never ratified.